Skip Navigation

A A A+

Awards and medals

Catherine Richards Prize

Catherine Richards worked for the Institute from 1970 until her death in 1993. She was Executive Secretary for the period 1987 to 1993. The prize fund was created from donations made in her memory. The Catherine Richards Prize may be awarded annually for the best article published in Mathematics Today in the preceding year. A second prize created to encourage younger contributors has been run as competition since 2013.

Christopher Zeeman Medal

The Christopher Zeeman Medal was created to recognise and acknowledge the contributions of mathematicians involved in promoting mathematics to the public and engaging with the public in mathematics in the UK. The medal was named in honour of Professor Sir Christopher Zeeman FRS, who presented the first award in 2008. The Christopher Zeeman Medal is awarded jointly by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the London Mathematical Society every two years. Nominees should be mathematicians who have been actively involved in mathematics (including research, teaching and applications in any sector of employment).

David Crighton Medal

The David Crighton Medal was established by the Councils of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) and the London Mathematical Society (LMS) in 2002 to pay tribute to the memory of Professor David George Crighton FRS.

The medal is awarded every two years to an eminent mathematician for services both to mathematics and to the mathematical community. The medal winner is normally presented with the award at a joint meeting of the IMA and LMS, and will also be invited to give a lecture.

IMA Gold Medal

Institute Gold Medals are awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to mathematics and its applications over a period of years. Contributions that can be considered vary greatly and might the form of:

  • the building up of a research group of exceptional merit
  • notable contributions to the application of mathematical techniques
  • outstanding contributions to the improvement of the teaching of mathematics.

IMA Information and Inference Best Paper Prize

The IMA Information and Inference Best Paper Prize for early career researchers is a biennial prize highlighting the best articles published by an early career researcher in Information and Inference: A Journal of the IMA. Eligible manuscripts are those which have been accepted for publication and which were submitted with a co-author who is currently a doctoral student or within five years of the receipt of their first doctorate. All eligible manuscripts will be reviewed by the Editors-in-Chief and a shortlist of early career authors will be invited to present their article at a prize meeting. First and second prizes will be awarded based on the merit of the article and its presentation.

IMA Leslie Fox Prize

Leslie Fox was a founder member of the Institute, the director of the Oxford University Computer Laboratory from 1957 – 1982, and a distinguished worker in numerical linear algebra and differential equations. The prize was established in 1985 with funds donated in his memory. Awards are made every two years for papers in numerical analysis given by persons under 31 on 1 January in year of the award. The adjudicators may award more than one first and second prizes.

IMA Lighthill-Thwaites Prize

Every two years, the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications in cooperation with the Institute’s Journal of Applied Mathematics and the British Applied Mathematics Colloquium (BAMC) will award the IMA Lighthill-Thwaites Prize in applied mathematics. The award will based on a submitted piece of work that describes an aspect of the candidate's original research and is suitable for presentation at the BAMC. This biennial prize has been established by the IMA, in 2010, in recognition of the achievement of its first two Presidents - Professors Sir James Lighthill and Sir Bryan Thwaites.

Mathematical Medicine & Biology: A Journal Of The IMA Best Paper Prize

To celebrate the Journal's 30th year of publication, we are proud to announce a best paper prize, recognising the most outstanding research published in the Journal.

The prize will be £1000 and will be awarded every two years at the Society of Mathematical Biology annual conference.

On this occasion, any paper submitted to Mathematical Medicine & Biology between June 2013 and December 2014, and subsequently accepted for publication in the Journal, will automatically be considered for the 2015 prize. The entries will be judged by a committee drawn from the Editorial Board and will be announced at the SMB annual conference in 2015. The prize will be awarded to the authors of the paper deemed by the committee to show the greatest originality and significance, particularly in combining mathematical depth with biological or biomedical impact. This is an open competition and no restrictions on authorship will be imposed, except that Co-Editors are ineligible and no Associate Editor who is an author of a candidate paper can serve on the judging committee.