Skip Navigation

A A A+

3rd IMA International Conference on Flood Risk

Date: 30 – 31 March 2015

Location: Swansea University, Wales, UK


This conference will take place from 30 - 31 March 2015 at Swansea University, Wales, UK.

Recent coastal and inland flooding events such as occurred in the UK, have highlighted the difficulties in forecasting individual and sequences of extreme events. The widespread and catastrophic flooding following the Japanese earthquake in March 2011 heightened the global public awareness of the limitations of existing flood defence infrastructure and flood warning systems.

The conference will provide a forum at which engineers, mathematicians and statisticians can meet to exchange views on this important technical area. The emphasis will be on new developments in the mathematical and statistical techniques applicable for assessing flood risk. The conference will be of interest to flood defence practitioners; flood defence managers; statisticians, mathematicians and civil engineers.

We welcomed contributions drawing upon diverse conceptual bases, including reliability theory, statistical analysis, mathematical modelling of flood flows, forecasting systems and techniques, and of course mathematics.  Papers will be organised under four principal themes:

  • Climate change
  • Computational methods in flood forecasting
  • Extreme events
  • Uncertainty and reliability



The abstract deadline has now passed.

Authors will be notified of acceptance by 17 October 2014.

Final papers (camera-ready) are required by 27 February 2015 for inclusion in the Conference Proceedings. Further information on the format of the final paper will be forwarded once authors have been notified of the acceptance of their abstract.

Invited Speakers

Prof Hajime Mase (Kyoto University)
Prof Stefan Uhlenbrook (UNESCO-IHE, Netherlands)
Dr Adrián Pedrozo-Acuña (UNAM-México)
Further speakers to be confirmed.

Organising Committee:

Prof Dominic Reeve – Chair (Swansea University)
Dr Harshinie Karunarathna - Dep. Chair (Swansea University)
Dr Jose M Horrillo-Caraballo (Swansea University)
Dr Yunqing Xuan (Swansea University)
Dr Patricia Xavier (Swansea University)
Dr Yuzhi Cai (Swansea University)

Scientific Committee:

Dr Shunqi Pan (Cardiff University, UK)
Dr Peter Hawkes (HR Wallingford, UK)
Prof Agustin Sanchez-Arcilla (UPC, Spain)
Dr Andreas Kortenhaus (Ghent Univ., Belgium)
Prof Panagiotis Prinos (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)
Prof Nigel Wright (Univ. of Leeds, UK)
Prof Garry Pender (Heriot-Watt Univ., UK)
Dr. Ivan Haigh (Univ of Southampton, UK)
Prof Chris Kilsby (Newcastle Univ., UK)
Dr. Robert Moore (CEH, UK)
Dr Pierre Lubin (Univ. Bourdeaux, France)
Dr Yongping Chen (Hohai Univ., China)
Dr Qingping Zou (Univ. Of Maine, USA)

Further Details:

For further information or to register your interest, please contact Lizzi Lake, Conference Officer, E-mail:, Tel: +44 (0) 1702 354 020, Fax: +44 (0) 1702 354 111, Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, Catherine Richards House, 16 Nelson Street, Southend-on-Sea, Essex, SS1 1EF, UK.