Skip Navigation

A A A+

IMA Conference on Mathematics of Robotics

Date: 9 – 11 September 2015

Location: St Anne’s College, University of Oxford

Call for Papers

The IMA Conference on the Mathematics of Robotics aims to bring together researchers working on all areas of robotics which have a significant Mathematical content. The idea is to highlight the Mathematical depth and sophistication of techniques applicable to Robotics and to foster cooperation between researchers working in different areas of Robotics. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

Topology. Kinematics. Algebraic topology of configuration spaces of robot mechanisms. Topological aspects of path planning and sensor networks. Differential topology and singularity theory of robot mechanism and moduli spaces.
Algebraic Geometry. Varieties generated by linkages and constraints. Geometry of stiffness and inertia matrices. Rigid-body motions. Computational approaches to algebraic geometry.
Dynamical Systems and Control. Dynamics of robots and mechanisms. Simulation of multi-body systems, e.g. swarm robots. Geometric control of robots. Optimal control and other optimisation problems.
Combinatorial and Stochastic Methods. Rigidity of structures. Path planning algorithms. Modular robots.
Statistics. Stochastic control. Localisation. Navigation with uncertainty. Statistical learning theory.
Cognitive Robotics. Mathematical aspects of Artificial Intelligence, Developmental Robotics and other Neuroscience based approaches.

Invited Speakers:

Professor Roger Brockett, Harvard University
Professor Gregory Chirikjian, Johns Hopkins University
Dr Josef Schicho, University Linz

Instructions to authors:

Researchers are invited to submit original technical contributions in the form of full papers of at most 8 pages. All contributions will be peer reviewed and acceptance will be based on the results of the review process.

Papers should be submitted by 7 April 2015 to

Please refer to the paper guidelines, which can be downloaded from:

Conference Proceedings

A selection of papers from the conference will be published in a special edition of the IMA Journal of Mathematical Control and Information. All other contributions will be made available via USB proceedings (with ISBN) to be distributed at the conference, and made available online following the conference via the IMA conference webpage.

Important Dates

Extended submissions deadline: 7 April 2015
Notification of acceptance: 1 June 2015
Final version due: 1 August 2015
Conference Dates: 9 – 11 September 2015

Conference Fees

Registration will open in due course. The Early Bird fees* are expected to be as follows:

IMA Member: £255
IMA Student: £170
Non-member: £340
Non-member Student: £180

Residential Fee (to include nights of 9 and 10 September and a conference dinner on the night of 10 September): £205

*Early Bird fees will be available until Monday 10 August, after which fees will increase by £20. Please note that these fees may be subject to small changes.

To register your interest in this conference for updates, please contact the IMA Conferences Department:

Organising Committee

W. Holderbaum, University of Reading (Chair)
V. M. Becerra, University of Reading
J. Biggs, University of Strathclyde
S. Cameron, University of Oxford
W. S. Harwin, University of Reading
J. M. Selig, London South Bank University

Programme Committee

Victor Becerra (University of Reading)
James Biggs (University of Strathclyde)
Ciprian S. Borcea (Rider University)
Joel Burdick (Caltech)
Stephen Cameron (University of Oxford)
Dong Eui Chang (University of Waterloo)
Peter Donelan (Victoria University of Wellington)
Michael Farber (Queen Mary, University of London)
Robert Ghrist (University of Pennsylvania)
Peter Grindrod (University of Oxford)
Dawei Gu (University of Leicester)
Simon Guest (University of Cambridge)
William Harwin (University of Reading)
William Holderbaum (University of Reading)
Manfred Husty (University of Innsbruck)
Alberto Isidori (University of Rome La Sapienza)
Marin Kobilarov (John Hopkins University)
Daniel Koditschek (University of Pennsylvania)
Professor Nick Koussoulas (University of Patras)
Taeyoung Lee (George Washington University)
Robert Mackay (University of Warwick)
J. Michael McCarthy (UC Irvine)
Claudiu Cristian Remsing (Rhodes University)
Elon Rimon (Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel)
Hans-Peter Schröcker (University of Innsbruck)
Jon Selig (London South Bank University)
Stefano Stramigioli (Twente)
Ileana Streinu (UMass Amherst)
Krzysztof Tchon (Wroclaw University of Technology)
Jeremy Wyatt (University of Birmingham)

Further information

For technical queries please contact Dr. W. Holderbaum

For general conference queries, or to register your interest, please contact Lizzi Lake, Conference Officer
E-mail:              Tel: +44 (0) 1702 354 020
Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, Catherine Richards House, 16 Nelson Street, Southend-on-Sea, Essex, SS1 1EF, UK.