Catherine Richards Prize

The Catherine Richards Prize is awarded for the best article published in Mathematics Today each year. Catherine Richards worked for the Institute from 1970 until her death in 1993. She was Executive Secretary for the period 1987 to 1993. The prize fund was created from donations made in her memory.

Christopher Zeeman Medal

The Christopher Zeeman Medal was created to recognise and acknowledge the contributions of mathematicians involved in promoting mathematics to the public and engaging with the public in mathematics in the UK. The medal was named in honour of Professor Sir Christopher Zeeman FRS, who presented the first award in 2008. The Christopher Zeeman Medal is awarded jointly by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the London Mathematical Society every two years. Nominees should be mathematicians who have been actively involved in mathematics (including research, teaching and applications in any sector of employment).

David Crighton Medal

The David Crighton Medal was established by the Councils of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) and the London Mathematical Society (LMS) in 2002 to pay tribute to the memory of Professor David George Crighton FRS.

The medal is awarded every two years to an eminent mathematician for services both to mathematics and to the mathematical community. The medal winner is normally presented with the award at a joint meeting of the IMA and LMS, and will also be invited to give a lecture.

Graham Hoare Prize

The Graham Hoare Prize is awarded annually to Early Career Mathematicians for a brilliant Mathematics Today article. The prize was named after Graham Hoare for his valuable contribution to the IMA and the wider mathematics community, especially in encouraging young mathematicians. He was head of mathematics at Dr Challoner’s Grammar School, and has actively supported the UK Mathematics Trust, the Ri Masterclasses programme, the Bletchley Park Education Department, the Mathematical Association and the IMA. Graham responded to letters in a characteristically erudite and jocular style for 20 years as Mathematics Today Letters Editor.

IMA Gold Medal

Institute Gold Medals are awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to mathematics and its applications over a period of years.

IMA Information and Inference Best Paper Prize

The IMA Information and Inference Best Paper Prize for early career researchers is a biennial prize highlighting the best articles published by an early career researcher in Information and Inference: A Journal of the IMA.

IMA Leslie Fox Prize for Numerical Analysis

Leslie Fox was a founder member of the Institute, the director of the Oxford University Computer Laboratory from 1957 – 1982, and a distinguished worker in numerical linear algebra and differential equations. The prize was established in 1985 with funds donated in his memory. Awards are made every two years for papers in numerical analysis given by persons under 31 on 1 January in year of the award. The adjudicators may award more than one first and second prizes.

IMA Lighthill-Thwaites Prize

Every two years, the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications in cooperation with the Institute’s Journal of Applied Mathematics and the British Applied Mathematics Colloquium (BAMC) will award the IMA Lighthill-Thwaites Prize in applied mathematics. The award will based on a submitted piece of work that describes an aspect of the candidate’s original research and is suitable for presentation at the BAMC. This biennial prize has been established by the IMA, in 2010, in recognition of the achievement of its first two Presidents – Professors Sir James Lighthill and Sir Bryan Thwaites.