The Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA), in cooperation with the Institute’s Journal of Applied Mathematics and the British Applied Mathematics Colloquium (BAMC), awards the IMA Lighthill-Thwaites Prize in Applied Mathematics.

This biennial prize has been established by the IMA in recognition of the achievement of its first two Presidents – Professors Sir James Lighthill and Sir Bryan Thwaites – in laying the foundations of what has become a major scientific institute. It was their mutual interest in the education and training of young people, as much as their involvement in applied mathematics, that has shaped the conditions of the Prize as detailed below.

IMA Lighthill-Thwaites Prize Winners